So far, so good.

So far, the writing project has been going well; I’m setting aside just a little time and getting some thoughts down in a methodical matter. To some degree, the act of doing it is more important to me than the content right now, although I’m looking forward to getting to some more interesting topics.

One of the challenges for me–beyond just making myself set aside time to work on this–is keeping track of public/private boundaries, both for myself and for others.

We live in interesting times, and it seems like it doesn’t take much to incur the wrath of people with destructive personal agendas. It seems like any political opinion against the wrong person or company or industry or group significantly increases one’s likelihood of getting all sorts of threats. It still boggles my mind that Anita Sarkeesian’s Feminist Frequency vlog–with its baseline message of, “these tropes are tired; we can do better”–was enough to incur the venomous bile she received.

I don’t want to constrain myself; a life lived in fear is a life half-lived, right? But it’s not just me; I don’t want my family put in danger just because I voiced an opinion about what walls should or shouldn’t be built.

So my last few posts have have been less-than-entirely personal, because I’m trying to navigate those waters. But as the waters warm up, when I find a spot where I feel reasonably safe, I’ll wade in further.

And I’m happy to take suggestions. As I’m working my way up to my 20-minute-a-day goal, I’d be thrilled to step outside my normal frame of reference and talk about interesting topics from the Micro.Blog community