20 minutes writing

So I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, but I’ve been thinking that I really want to write more. I always think that I’ve got a bunch to say on a wide range of topics, but since I don’t often note them down, they’re like tears in the rain.

I have made a promise to myself to try to spend some time on writing every day this year. My first couple of sessions were just making notes to myself in the iOS notes app, so they were just a few minutes each, but I feel like I’ve got some momentum.

I’m also going to try to increase the amount of time for each writing, with the goal of hitting 20 minutes a day. I don’t think it’s too much.

Now I’m a parent, so I understand the importance of not setting someone up to fail, even if it’s yourself. And there are certainly reasons that I might not be able to do it some days. But this is my goal, and I’ve got a feeling that if I keep my sights pointed ever-so-slightly upward, I think it’ll be easier and easier to progress.